Posted in Holistic Health, Personal Reflections

The Best Thing I Ever Ate (Blog Action Day 2011)

Today is Blog Action Day and the subject this year is FOOD. I was delighted to learn that because I love food…I really, really love it! πŸ™‚

In my opinion, food deserves to be loved. Food nourishes the body and love nourishes the heart. Why not love what we eat and nourish the whole package all at once?

Food is fuel (that is an absolute fact) but it need not taste like gasoline. We can all enjoy eating without ballooning our butts right out of our jeans. We simply need to take the time to find good food, shop or plan for the time we want to eat it, and then whole-heartedly indulge in the sensory delights of a great meal, without eating so much that we have to unbutton our pants at the dinner table.

That is how I like to eat. I like my food to be fragrant, pretty, and delicious. The best thing I ever ate was delivered to my table by a sweet waiter who had clearly just cut off his very long hair into a more conservative crop. (I remember specifically asking him: “You used to have long hair, huh?” He was surprised that I noticed being as he had indeed just cut it all off. I guess some people just have that born-for-hippie-hair look about them…) But anyway, this adorableΒ man brought me something called a Lakanilau Roll, which sounded lovely on the menu, and tasted like it was made by culinary angels.

You can get this Lakanilau Roll for the bargain price of $16.95 at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion restaurants.

This is the current menu description of the dish, however it was made with Kobe Beef when I first tried it. I had it about a year later with the new Wagyu Beef and it was just as good.

LAKANILAU ROLL: Β Wagyu Beef, Snow Crab, Tempura Asparagus, Avocado, Sesame Miso, Truffled Greens.Β 

I don’t really believe the menu description of this item does it the justice it deserves. The description fails to explain that your tempura asparagus and snow crab are wrapped gorgeously with a light rice and the seared Wagyu beef. Its topped with the fresh greens and the most unique and delectable sauce you can imagine.

This is Lakanilau, and it isΒ the best things I ever ate.Β 

Photo Credit: Orange County Register
Photo Credit: FoodLand.com

I also ordered something else one evening, another absolutely amazing selection of flavors, called the Canoe Appetizer for Two. It was an assortment of five decadent servings of different dishes. It has Grilled Szechuan Pork Ribs, Blackened Ahi, Seared Tiger Shrimp, Lobster Potstickers, and Crispy Spicy Tuna Roll. Its one plate with a hundred different flavors, textures, and aromas. Its presented like a piece of art and each taste is a new blend of amazement.

Photo Credit: LTHforum.com
Photo Credit. Yelp.com

We can truly experience the whole world through food. There is so much culture and beauty available to us in this way. I strongly encourage people to try new things, particularly when it comes to food. I am not exaggerating when I say that my life would be empty – EMPTY – if I had never ventured past my own meat & potatoes upbringing.

My parents and husband won’t go near a piece of sushi with a ten-foot-pole because they have a wretched false belief that its “raw fish”. Its a culinary tradgedy when people embrace some silly stigma about a certain variety of food or preparation method. Try to avoid doing that. Keep your mind, your heart, Β and your mouth open to receiving the world. People, art, tastes, sounds, dance…embrace the energy that these things carry with them.

And for crying out loud…EAT GOOD FOOD. Β πŸ™‚

___________
Β© Danielle Hewitt (ofΒ Loving A Fit Life)Β and DanielleHewitt.com (includingΒ LovingAFitLife.com)Β 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle HewittΒ and DanielleHewitt.comΒ with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Author:

Integrative Nutrition Holistic Health Coach. Jesus Follower. Reader. Writer. Yogini. Girl Boss. I'm into love, balance, growth, laughter, exploring, fitness, coffee, and trees. ;)

One thought on “The Best Thing I Ever Ate (Blog Action Day 2011)

Leave a Reply

