Posted in Fitness

I can run!

I will begin this entry by sharing some background info about it all. I promise there is a good reason why I titled a post with something as silly as “I can run!”….primarily that I only recently realized that, but let me back up.

For all of my young life, and I do mean all of it, I hated running. I was the girl in P.E. that always managed to have a doctor’s note on the days we ran “the mile”. I got through those presidential fitness tests by jogging lightly around the track only when I absolutely had to, just to attain some standardized passing time that pleases The Man. (ha…).

I did just fine on all the other tests…the sit-ups, toe-reach box, chin-ups, etc but I thought running was the dumbest sport to ever exist. Who deliberately just goes out there and runs for no reason? How was getting all dusty, sweaty, and out-of-breath supposed to be fun? That made zero sense to me.

Fast forward to a couple months ago.

I’ve always been a big fan of treadmill workouts. When I veeeeeerrrryy first started working out, I had a little interval sequence that involved brisk walking and eventually graduated to a jog as my fitness improved. Granted this was interval training, so these jogs were never longer than a minute or two.

But then I quit smoking.
(I know, right?…)

After that, I started working out harder and pushing myself further than I previously had. Before long, my little one-minute jogging intervals had become 2-3 minute running intervals at a near sprint. I kept improving and running got easier as I went along. Suddenly I found myself watching the folks that were jogging along for 20-30 minutes at a time, thinking maybe they aren’t so stupid after all.

Time went on. Training continued. All was well. The runners I would see at the gym and on the sidewalks intrigued me. I wondered what all this talk was about “the runner’s high”. I fantasized about running a marathon. I laughed at myself and got back to my normal routine.

This is self-doubt at its best: 

  • “I have a bad knee. High-impact training is wrong for me.”
  • “I was a smoker for ten years. I don’t have the lung capacity for that.”
  • “I have never been able to do it, so why start now?”
  • “That just isn’t me. I wish it was, but I’m not that person.”

HOLD THE EFF UP!!! WHAT???
“I wish I was, but I’m not.”    Really?????

Who was I talking to??? Apparently some complete fool had invaded my brain and was leading ridiculous dialogues in there. This weirdo had to be stopped!

So I decided that in order to defeat the inner-buzzkill, I was going to RUN.

But where does one start? All I need is a pair of shoes right? But then what??

I needed a goal! Some sort of effort to focus on. And then I could find the pathway toward reaching it. What do runners do? They do marathons! But 26 miles is a big goal for a beginner…perhaps a 5K? I had walked a couple of those in the past and don’t feel like it would be enough of a challenge.

Then it hit me – a 10K! Awesome plan!  =)

So I checked The Google for a 10K training plan and found one that takes eight weeks. Two short months seemed a little ambitious, but that could just be the inner-idiot yapping again, so I decided to make it work. I adapted the program to work better for me by adding two weeks to the front end and one week to the back, for a total of eleven weeks from Training Day #1 to Race Day.

I am currently on Day #11, and this is the improvement scale:
Day #2, Tuesday:  Mile Pace = 14:14
Day #5, Friday: Mile Pace = 12:50
Day #9, Tuesday: Mile Pace = 12:22
Day #11, Thursday: Mile Pace =  12:04

In the first week, I got 1 minute & 30 seconds faster in only 3 days.
Another 28 seconds shaved off over the weekend.
And then 18 more just between Tuesday and today! Yay!

That means that it is only Thursday and I have already met my 12-minute goal for the week. I’m stoked! It still amazes me that I can run. That I want to run. (Like, who am I?) But seriously, it is therapeutic and empowering for me at this stage of life, and I never would’ve expected that to happen.

Running requires a new sort of breath control, but I can do it.
It also requires a fair amount of muscular endurance, but I can do it.
There is definitely some impact involved, but I can do that too.
My knee doesn’t hurt.
I still haven’t run out of breath.
And my legs aren’t sore or achy at all.

I am so glad I did not let the inner buzzkill stop me from stepping out of my comfort zone and working for something new!

****UPDATE****

I finished the 10k well within my goal time! I intended to run the race at absolutely no less than a 12-minute pace, and finish the course in less than an hour and 10 minutes.

I ended up running at 10:33 pace and finished in 1 hour, 5 minutes, and 26 seconds. 🙂

___________

© Danielle Hewitt (of Loving A Fit Life) and DanielleHewitt.com (including LovingAFitLife.com) 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle Hewitt and DanielleHewitt.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Author:

Integrative Nutrition Holistic Health Coach. Jesus Follower. Reader. Writer. Yogini. Girl Boss. I'm into love, balance, growth, laughter, exploring, fitness, coffee, and trees. ;)

Leave a Reply

