Posted in Fitness

A Story About a Song…

Not too terribly long ago (last October, I think), Kelly Clarkson released a song titled “Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)”. It played on the radio, and sometimes it was absorbed by my subconscious, while other times it was skipped over for something more classic-rock’esque.

I didn’t dislike the song, but I didn’t particularly like it all that much either. It was just one of those mediocre tracks that didn’t really speak to me.

Then one Sunday about a month ago, during my last long run before my 10K, that changed.

My run on this day had not been an easy one, which is no big deal. Some runs are absolute bliss from start to finish, while others suck from the friggin’ get-go. This was one of the latter variety, but it had to be done. I was supposed to go 5.5 miles that morning, and when I started to feel tired, like I surely must be close to done, I checked my distance and had only gone 3.8 miles. I still had almost two miles left to go and a great sigh of defeat escaped my lungs when I realized it. I spent the next minute or so wishing I hadn’t checked, wishing I would have just kept going without looking at the display. Knowing that I still had a fair amount of work ahead of me made it even harder to keep going…

Keep in mind that a few weeks prior to this, my dog ate my earbuds. (True story.) So I was getting through my workouts with nothing but the thoughts in my head and whatever happened to be blaring from Planet Fitness Radio.

I looked down at the display again and was barely past the 4-mile point. I could have cried.

But then…as if the gods of fitness and music had come together, this Kelly Clarkson tune started playing from the speakers above my head. Somehow, this song transformed the rest of my run. It seemed to be playing louder than all the other songs had, and the words suddenly touched me. “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller, me myself and I…”

My run was transformed from a hard one to an empowering one.
I was not listening to the voices in my head – I was working from my heart.
I was not alone – I was competing with the previous day’s version of myself.
I was not getting tired – I was building my endurance.
I was not giving in to a challenge – I was fighting to win it.

This song carried me through the rest of my fourth mile leaving only a little over one mile to go. By the time I was that far, I not only knew I would finish the run strong, but I knew I would finish my 10K just as strong. I knew that I had set-out to do something that I never thought I could do, and I was doing it.

And ever since that morning, I have absolutely LOVED this song. 🙂 

You know the bed feels warmer,
Sleeping here alone,
You know I dream in color,
And do the things I want.

You think you got the best of me,
Think you had the last laugh,
Bet you think that everything good is gone.

Think you left me broken down,
Think that I’d come running back,
Baby you don’t know me, cause you’re dead wrong.

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone.

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter!
Footsteps even lighter,
Doesn’t mean i’m over cause you’re gone!

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Just me myself and I,
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean i’m lonely when i’m alone!

You heard that I was starting over with someone new,
They told you I was moving on, over you,
You didn’t think that I’d come back,
I’d come back swinging
You try to break me but you see…

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone!

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter,
Footsteps even lighter,
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause your gone!

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Just me, myself and I…
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone!

Thanks to you I got a new thing started,
Thanks to you I’m not the broken hearted,
Thanks to you I’m finally thinking ’bout me,
You know in the end the day I left was just my beginning….. in the end…

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone!

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter!
Footsteps even lighter,
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone!

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Just me, Myself and I…
What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,
Stand a little taller,
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone!

I’m not alone….

___________
© Danielle Hewitt (of Loving A Fit Life) and DanielleHewitt.com (including LovingAFitLife.com) 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle Hewitt and DanielleHewitt.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Author:

Integrative Nutrition Holistic Health Coach. Jesus Follower. Reader. Writer. Yogini. Girl Boss. I'm into love, balance, growth, laughter, exploring, fitness, coffee, and trees. ;)

2 thoughts on “A Story About a Song…

Leave a Reply

