What’s Good? On May 30th…

Here’s this week’s favorites  – from the tiny corner of the interweb that I hang out in.

I liked this, but I would have to add that there is a very important (and obvious) relationship missing from the list which is the one we have with God. I think our spiritual relationship is definitely one of the most important and should have made it on to this otherwise broadly-encompassing list.

5.30.2014 - 3 Most Important

 

 

Could you be in the wrong career? [seen at DailyWorth)

5.30.2014 - Career be wrong

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continuing down that path, Danielle LaPorte offers:

Can’t decide which idea to pursue?
Here’s THE key question + ten more to help you choose.
verge of a miracle

 

 

24 Tricks to Survive Summer Heat 

(because we don’t have that luxe A/C stuff at our house…)

24-Tricks-To-Sleep-In-The-Heat

 

 

What I did this week:

I got sick. It was a total blast. There was like radioactive neon green gunk in my nose and lungs, and walking upstairs left me feeling like I’d run a marathon. Everything tasted weird and I slept horribly.

BUT – First Step Experience started again last weekend which brought me SO much joy, and I got my car back from the body shop on Saturday, and being partly bed-ridden allowed me to dive into The Power of Habit, so the week wasn’t a total loss.

 

On the matter of books:

I highly encourage you to read The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. For a non-fiction title to actually grip me, like a novel might, was pretty cool. The fact that I am barreling through this book as if it were a novel is even cooler. Definitely a great read – totally recommend!

Now, on the other hand…I thought I would read Your Primal Body because I like to know about things that are happening in the fitness world, and Amazon people were saying that the author is like the go-to-girl in the world of Paleo/Primal/Paranoid…whatever they call it.

And I started to write a review of the book, but have decided to hold off and instead just say that I didn’t like it. My not-liking is due partly to the author’s writing (style?…or lack thereof?) and partly to the content. The main principles themselves aren’t terrible, but I don’t like to read books that leave me feeling like I need to fact-check everything I just absorbed.

Not that I know who I would direct you to as an alternative if this lifestyle is of interest to you. Then again, maybe the truth is that I wouldn’t direct you toward any of this until I personally experiment with and benefit from it. Which probably won’t even happen because something about this whole deal just rubs me the wrong way. Almost to an insulting point…like I feel the need to stand up and fight for the rights of wrongly-accused oatmeal.

But I digress…point being, if you want a paleo diet book, don’t choose this one. In fact…as of today, May 30th 2014, I would say not to choose any of them. It all still sounds to me like a bunch of hoopla and bro science, at best.  Just try eating clean and exercising in ways that make you feel good.

 

Quote of the Week:

(which is actually a poem, in honor of the awesomeness that Maya Angelou brought to our world)

Phenomenal Woman

BY MAYA ANGELOU

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms,
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them,
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need for my care.
’Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

may angelou

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

___________
© Danielle Hewitt (of Loving A Fit Life) and DanielleHewitt.com (including LovingAFitLife.com) 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle Hewitt and DanielleHewitt.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

