Beauty on the Path Less Chosen

I tend to pick the tree-lined path,

The shady path,

The one I deem prettier.

I don’t look for glory in the desert,

Or in the trail more brown than green.

Yesterday I walked the higher road,

And the only trees were those below,

And the plants beside me were dry brush and

Wildflowers rattling in the breeze.

Yet there was beauty there too,

Which I rarely see because when the sign

Says “ridge” and the other says “stream”

I always go the way of the water.

Yesterday I looked at the trees from the top

And took in a view I don’t often regard with

Endless sky above me and green earth below,

That made me wonder what the birds behold.

Where I usually heard water trickling,

Instead there were brittle leaves rustling,

And there was beauty there too.

The open sky reminded me that I am limitless,

And the breeze told me I can go anywhere I choose.

The holes in the ground where the snakes like to crawl,

Said that the squirrels don’t have it all figured out,

While the dusty trail confirmed politely that the

Diversity in wildness is just perfect.

The forest and ocean, desert and snow, cliffs and meadows,

All treasured for their uniqueness.

There are different paths,

Perhaps chosen less often,

But there is beauty there too.

___________
© Danielle Hewitt (of Loving A Fit Life) and DanielleHewitt.com (including LovingAFitLife.com) 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle Hewitt and DanielleHewitt.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

