What’s good? (July 2015)

So……..July.

Where did you even come from dude? I feel like you snuck up on us a bit and now we’re more than halfway through the year with little to show for it.

We’re all going to wake up tomorrow and it’ll be Christmas. Watch…

 

______________________________________

Do you remember the movie, KIDS?

This was probably the most interesting thing I have read all week – an interview with the main cast and crew, twenty years later. I remember seeing this movie and being both deeply moved and deeply disturbed at the same time. It was unforgettable, and it had hit me hard.

Sex, drugs, and rave culture were things I knew very well and things that were so vividly illustrated by this unexpected cult-like film of the 90s. It had a big impact on me when I saw it. Reading this interview really stirred things up for me…

kids 1995

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

One breathtaking shot from every state.

view of cumberland gap and fern lake at pinnacle overlook. cumberland nat. his.park, ky

View of Cumberland Gap and Fern Lake at Pinnacle Overlook. Cumberland Nat. His. Park, KY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

I love these 33 Captivating Road Trip Photos from NatGeo.

camper patio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

9 Things to Know About Kids in Foster Care

foster kids

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This really ripped my heart right out of my chest. I have felt for a long time that foster care and/or adoption are part of my future, and now I feel so more than ever. No child should have to live without someone to love, cherish, and protect them. That just should not be.

______________________________________

How To Stop Surviving and Find Your Real Purpose

real purpose

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

CURRENTLY READING:

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

It has taken me so long to get around to this one because I didn’t want to read it badly enough to actually buy it and only just discovered it at my library last week. But, better late than never, right?

(And to be honest…I think I could’ve written this very same collection of essays with far greater fanfare. All I heard about this book was the controversial content and explicit stories, but I have yet to be even the slightest bit shocked or offended.)

not that kind of girl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

tidying up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

Annnnnnnnnnddddd, that is what’s good this July.  🙂

11539249_10205486419734959_6563110316069567190_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

______________________________________

Are we friends on Facebook yet?  Because we totally should be.

Even though I usually have a way better time on Instagram…

I do some pinning here and there, and occasionally I tweet.

And just for good measure ;)
GoodreadsTumblrLinkedInGoogle+

___________
© Danielle Hewitt (of Loving A Fit Life) and DanielleHewitt.com (including LovingAFitLife.com) 2011 – 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Danielle Hewitt and DanielleHewitt.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

